6th World University Boxing Championship

6th World University Boxing Championship

Founded in 1949, FISU stands for Fédération Internationale du Sport Universitaire (International University Sports Federation). FISU’s main responsability is the supervision of both the Summer and Winter Universiades, as well as the World University Championships. The General Assembly representing its members (170 National University Sports Federations) is FISU’s main governing body. It elects for a four-year period the Executive Committee, which takes all the necessary decisions for the smooth running of FISU. Fourteen permanent commissions advise the Executive Committee in their specialised areas, thus facilitating its duties. FISU is funded through subscription, organising and entry fees, television incomes and marketing activities.

The Universiades

TThe Universiade is an international sporting and cultural festival which is staged every two years in a different city. The Summer Universiade consists of 10 compulsory sports with 13 compulsory disciplines (Athletics – Basketball – Fencing – Football – Artistic Gymnastics – Rhythmic Gymnastics – Judo – Swimming – Diving – Water-Polo – Table Tennis – Tennis – Volleyball) and up to three optional sports chosen by the host country. The record figures are 11,785 participants in Kazan, Russia in 2013 and 174 countries in Daegu, Korea, in 2003.

The Winter Universiade consists of 8 compulsory sports (Alpine Skiing – Snowboard – Cross-Country Skiing – Curling – Ice Hockey – Short Track Speed Skating – Figure Skating – Biathlon) and up to three optional sports, also chosen by the host country. It reached a record of 2,668 participants in Trentino, Italy, in 2013 and a record number of 57 countries in Almaty, Kazakhstan, in 2017.

The World University Championships

FISU’s other important sporting events are the World University Championships (WUC). The development of university sport in the world created a new series of meets and competitions to complete the Universiade programme. FISU supports those competitions which represent the continuity of university sport and allow the federation to be better known. In 2014, FISU staged 28 WUCs, which attracted 6,6448 participants. In 2018 we will have 34 events! The WUC sports programme comprises: American Football – Archery – Badminton – Baseball – Basketball 3×3 – Beach Volleyball – Boxing – Bridge – Canoe Sprint – Canoe slalom – Cheerleading – Chess – Cross Country – Cycling – Equestrian – Floorball – Futsal – Golf – Handball – Cycling – Korfball – Modern Pentathlon – Netball – Orienteering – Roller Sport – Rowing – Rugby Sevens – Sailing – Sambo – Shooting Sports – Ski Jumping and Nordic Combined – Ski Orienteering – Speed Skating – Sport Climbing – Squash – Triathlon – Waterskiing – Weightlifting – Woodball – Wrestling – Wushu.

The Eligibility

The Universiades and Championships are open to all student athletes that have not been out of university or an equivalent institution for more than a year, and that are aged between 17 and 28. Any association which is a member of FISU may enter a team or an individual competitor. Entries are accepted from any country eligible for the Olympic Games and from any national federation affiliated to the appropriate international federation.

The International Day of University Sport: 20 September

The International Day of University Sport (IDUS) will be celebrated annually on 20 September. It is officially endorsed by the United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organisation (UNESCO). Among others, the day aims at confirming the importance of sport in universities and the role of universities in the community as responsible actors for consolidating and developing quality physical and sport education at the service of citizens. Each year on 20 September, thanks to its network of university associations, clubs and partners, FISU will mobilise the academic world. The events will propose leisure sport activities, competitions, discussion workshops and cultural happenings to citizens of all ages.

The History of Cycling in FISU

Cycling had its first World University Championship in Antwerp, Belgium in 1978. Since then, five other Championships have been organised: 1986 Moscow, Russia, 1990 in Palma de Mallorca (Spain), 2006 in Antwerp (Belgium), 2008 Nijmegen (the Netherlands) and 2014 Jelenia Gora (Poland). These Championships have consistently drawn large numbers of competitors and increasingly attracted more spectators. Organised on racetrack and road, they were notable for the high technical levels achieved. In the latest years, mountain biking and BMX were included into the programme, enabling a renewal of the sport within FISU. Indeed, mountain biking and BMX have seen remarkable development and the enthusiasm they generated in university circles entered this type of event into the regular programme as of 2006. Cycling was included twice as an optional sport of the Summer Universiades: 1983 in Edmonton (Canada) and 2011 in Shenzhen (China). The 7th World University Cycling Championship will be organised for the first time out of Europe and will be the first FISU event in the Philippines, namely in the city of Tagaytay.

Previous Events

2016 – 7th WUC Cycling – Tagaytay (PHI)

2014 – 6th WUC Cycling – Jelenia Gora (POL)

2008 – 5th WUC Cycling – Nijmegen (NED)

2006 – 4th WUC Cycling – Antwerpen/Herentals (BEL)

1990 – 3rd WUC Cycling – Palma de Mallorca (ESP)

1986 – 2nd WUC Cycling – Moscow (URS)

1978 – 1st WUC Cycling – Antwerpen (BEL)

WUC Cycling as an optional sport at the Summer Universiade

1983 – Edmonton (CAN)

2011 – Shenzhen (CHN)

Subscribe to WUC newsletters and stay up to date with the latest news.

Complexo Desportivo
da Universidade do Minho
Campus de Gualtar
4710-057 Braga, Portugal

Phone: +351 253 604 124

2018 © World University Cycling Championship 2018 Braga
Designed and developed by gen design studio

Leave a Reply